Slide thumbnail

Update knowledge G Suite

Knowledge

Admin Console: New streamlined experience for managing users and domains

12/07/2021

What’s changing 

Earlier this year, Google announced an updated design for the Admin console home page, aimed to make it quicker to navigate around the Admin console, easier to find items you need to manage, and simpler to understand how Google Workspace is deployed within your organization. 

Now, They are introducing several new improvements making it easier for admins to perform common actions when managing users and domains within their organization, including improvements to the workflows around: 

  • Adding users and user profile pictures
  • Updating, renaming, and deleting users
  • Domain management and changing primary domains 

See below for more information.

 

Who’s impacted

Admins

Why it matters 

Google hopes these improvements provide actionable context and guidance, making it easier for admins to manage users and domains within their organization.

Additional details 

User management updates:

Adding a user

From the Admin console landing page, when selecting “Add a user”, you’ll see a new, streamlined fullscreen dialog, which displays the most essential fields first, including the user’s primary and secondary email addresses and domain information.

 

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

 

Assigning passwords

Additionally, you can choose whether to create or auto-generate a password for the user, and specify whether users should change their password when they first sign-in to their Google Workspace account. Note: the default is to auto-generate a password to comply with standard industry account security standards.

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

 

Assigning profile pictures

From the same form, you can assign the user an organizational unit and upload a profile picture for the user. 

 

Google has made it easier and more discoverable for admins to allow their users to update their profile photo. You can now find this setting under the “More” drop down menu in the user management section of the admin console.

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

Deleting a user

Updates provide more information on what happens when you delete a user, alternatives to deleting a user, and data transfer options.

 

Upon deleting a user, you’ll see information such as when the user’s data transfer will begin, the suspended state of the user, and how long admins have to restore the account if needed.

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

 

 

Updating a user

Google has added more information about what happens to the old email address and impacts on availability in Google Chat for improved guidance. 

 

They also have updated the call to action for changing an existing user’s name or email address from “Rename user” to “Update user” to reduce confusion.

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

Domain management updates:

Google has made several improvements to the Domains > Manage domains page:

 

First, They added an “Action” column where admins can see and quickly take actions such as “Remove”, “Add users”, “Set up redirect”, and more.

 

The “Status” column will better reflect what state a particular domain is in, such as “Verified”, “Gmail activated”, or “Verify domain”. Additionally, you’ll be able to verify a domain or activate Gmail directly from the column and view additional information such as how Gmail was setup for that particular domain.

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

In the “Type” column, you’ll see more descriptive details regarding the domain type, such as primary or test domains. You can also find more information and associated Help Center articles for each domain type.

 

Google has also updated the experience to better guide admins through the options of adding additional domains to their Workspace account. They changed “domain alias” to “user alias domain” to better explain when to select this option. Similarly, They also updated the terms “domain” to “secondary domain” to provide greater context and distinction when managing primary and secondary domains.

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

 

Along the way, you’ll notice more information and callouts along the way to help ensure you’re not inadvertently duplicating domains, or selecting a domain type that cannot be used as a primary domain. 

 

For example, when entering a domain name, you’ll see a pre-populated “www” prefix, which will better indicate to admins the purpose of the field.

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

You’ll see a warning if you accidentally add another “www” pre-fix to your domain name:

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

 

Changing primary domains

When changing your primary domain, you’ll see guidance on when a primary domain should change, important information associated with changing your domain. and alternate courses of action to consider.

 

Important note: Google has moved the location of the “Change primary domain” option to the top of the table. This change makes the option more easily discoverable, whereas previously you had to hover over the domain name to see this option.

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

 

If you select a domain that can’t be converted to a primary domain, you’ll see more information as to why that is and steps you can take to remedy the issue.

 

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

When you’ve successfully changed your primary domain, you’ll see a success screen with additional information about how long the change will take to propagate and any additional next steps.

 

Admin console: cập nhật giao diện dễ dàng sử dụng

 

Getting started

 

Rollout pace

 

Availability

  • Available to all Google Workspace customers, as well as G Suite Basic and Business customers

 

 

 

Source: Gimasys

 

Knowledge

Update and support center for administrator and user