Google Meet allows you see up to 49 people, including yourself
You can now see up to 49 people at the same time in the auto and tiled layout options in Google Meet.
In addition, Google has added the ability to see yourself as a tile on the call. When you hover over your thumbnail in the top right corner, you’ll now see the option to add or remove yourself from the grid. These changes are only visible to you.
See up to 49 participant tiles in Google Meet
Why you’d use it
Seeing more people at the same time can improve the dynamics of larger group meetings and classes. Whether it’s seeing everyone’s reactions to what’s being discussed, or more easily tracking multiple speakers, it can help virtual meetings feel more like in-person meetings and encourage participation. Additionally, adding yourself as a full tile let’s you see yourself better. This can make you feel more like part of the larger group, especially when taking screenshots or photos.
Google hopes that this helps individuals and teams feel more connected while apart.
This feature is only available in Meet on the web. By default, the maximum number of tiles you’ll see in auto layouts is 9, and in tiled layouts is 16.
With this launch, you’ll also be able to use a slider to adjust the number of tiles you see. You may want to increase the maximum when you have a large group, or reduce the number of tiles if you have a weak internet connection. Note that the slider adjustments are specific to each meeting, it will reset between each meeting and you can then customize each time. You may also see fewer tiles depending on your window size, as the tiles available will adjust to fit your screen.
- Admins: There is no admin control for this feature.
- End users: These features will be OFF by default. To change your layout, go to Settings > Change layout. Visit our Help Center to learn how to see yourself in a meeting.
- Rapid Release domains: Full rollout (1-3 days for feature visibility) starting on September 15, 2020
- Scheduled Release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) starting on September 21, 2020
- This feature is available now for all users.
- Available to all G Suite customers and users with personal Google Accounts