Windows VPS is an effective solution for businesses that need to run…
Google is expanding its meeting moderation controls in Google Meet with several highly requested features. You will now be able to:
- Assign up to 25 co-hosts to each meeting, allowing them to access and use host controls.
- Use safety features to limit who can share their screen, send chat messages, mute all users, and end meetings
- Use the “Quick access” settings to easily control who needs to request access to meetings.
Previously, these safety features were only available to our customers Google Workspace for Education. These controls will now be available to all Google Meet users on desktop and mobile. See below for more information and availability.
Admins and end users
Why it’s important
Google hopes these expanded controls make it easier for users to maintain productive, secure meetings and help prevent potential disruptions. Additionally, authorized co-hosts can handle responsibilities such as — muting participants, launching polls, managing Q&As — giving you more time to focus on hosting Lead discussions and guide attendees through presentations.
New controls for meeting organizers, which can be extended to co-hosts
In Google Meet settings, select “Host Control” and make sure the “Host Management” option is ON. When enabled, the server can now:
- Limit who can share their screen,
- Limit who can send chat messages,
- Mute them all with one click,
- End of meeting for all,
- Control who can join meetings and how they can join with the “Quick access” setting. Note: This feature is only available for specific Workspace versions – see below for more information.
For applicable Workspace versions (see more below), Meeting organizers can share hosting privileges with other meeting participants — up to 25 people per meeting — by give them control over the server in the People panel.
Fast access control
Google has expanded “quick access” controls for Meet to most Google Workspace Customers (see below for full availability). Express access control will be ON by default. When instant access is enabled, meeting participants from your domain can automatically join the meeting from mobile or desktop devices and by dialing in.
When quick access is locked:
- The person who chairs the meeting must attend the meeting first.
- Only invited participants can join without a request – all other attendees and dial-ins must request to join the meeting.
- No anonymous users can join the meeting.
- Only the meeting host can dial out of the meeting.
Visit the Help Center to learn more about controlling access to video meetings with quick access controls.
In the coming weeks, we will introduce a new setting in the admin console that will control Server Management. We will provide an update here on the Workspace Update Blog when that setting becomes available.
Update the “People” dashboard
Additionally, Google has added the ability to search for meeting participants. This will allow you to quickly navigate to a specific user to mute them, remove them from the call, or assign server privileges. The updated People Dashboard will be available on web and mobile.
If you have designated co-hosts in your meeting, they will be designated as such by a privacy shield icon.
- Admins: In the coming weeks, Google will introduce a setting that controls whether the Host Management setting is enabled or disabled by default.
- End users: not much affected
Web, Android and iOS
- Rapid and scheduled release domains: Gradual rollout (up to 15 days for feature visibility) starting August 16, 2021
Censorship and Safety Controls
- Có sẵn cho Google Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education Fundamentals, Education Plus, Education Standard, Nâng cấp dạy và học, Frontline và Nonprofits cũng như G Suite Basic và khách hàng Doanh nghiệp
- Also available to users with personal Google Accounts
Settings for Quick Access:
- Available to all Google Workspace customers, as well as G Suite Basic and Business customers
- Not available for Google Workspace Individual customers or users with personal Google Accounts
Ability to add co-hosts
- Available to Google Workspace Essentials, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Business Standard, Business Plus, Education Fundamentals, Education Standard, Education Plus, and Upgraded Teaching and Learning customers
- Không áp dụng cho Google Workspace Business Starter, Frontline và Nonprofits cũng như khách hàng G Suite Basic và Business